silencing my inner critic

January 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

So with it being New Year and all, and with bump entering second trimester, I have started practising yoga and pilates again. Maybe it was the endorphins released after the first session making my head go funny, but I decided to open a book that has long been gathering dust on my bookshelf – ‘The Mindful Manifesto: how doing less and noticing more can help us thrive in a stressed-out world’  (Dr Jonty Heaversedge & Ed Halliwell http://amzn.to/gI919H) Despite my anxiety about reading it on the train to work as the design screams ‘self-help book!’ I actually have managed to suppress my inner cynic for long enough to get past the preface. Not a great achievement you may agree, but if I can get a few chapters in I’m hoping I’ll soon be quietening my over-active inner critic and enjoying some ‘in the moment’ contentment.

My partner queried my choice of reading matter and I was at pains to point out that I am very contented, more I want to bank this technique for when baby 3 arrives, and the sleep-deprivation, tearfulness and irrationality kick in. So we shall see.

Talking of sleep-deprivation, I wish I had listened to my sister’s advice re. removing the 3yo’s night-time training pants. She told me to double-make the bed with two sets of sheets and waterproof sheets. I didn’t enjoy re-making the top bunk at 2 o’clock this morning. But I did get a lovely sleepy cuddle with my little boy at the end of it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading silencing my inner critic at motherporridge.

meta

