here’s to mum’s. And here’s to sharing.

January 17, 2011 § 1 Comment

An ex-colleague of mine and I used to giggle a lot about our Welsh mothers. In particular their great line in tragi-comic story telling. Unlike me my colleague was born and brought up in Wales. She used to do a cracking impression of her mother on the phone. ‘You know great Auntie Val’s stepbrother Malcolm’s daughter Susan? Well Susan’s car mechanic Rhys has has just left his one-legged wife Iris for Susan’s 16 year old daughter Laura. You know… the daughter that looks suspiciously like Susan’s next door neighbour Gladwell, with the facial herpes?’ 

So I’ve just come off the phone with my (Welsh) grandfather after a good chat about the cyst on his leg. And I thought…you know what? So many people as they get older live with illness and tragedy. Surely it’s a good thing to talk about it?

Take cancer for example. This weekend I was reading about how cancer is becoming ‘the new normal’. According to Cancer Research UK

  • Every two minutes someone is diagnosed with cancer in the UK
  • More than 1 in 3 people will develop some form of cancer during their lifetime, and 1 in 9 women will develop breast cancer.

This weekend I spent a lovely Friday night with my mum. I left the urchins at home, and escaped for a good catchup over pizza and garlic bread. We rarely get the time just us to talk about things. Mum is 59 and living with secondary cancer. This sucks. Lots.

So it’s Saturday at 9am and at the first signs of stirrings from my room  mum appears with a cup of tea and my favourite section of the paper, ushering me back into bed. She’s up and dressed, has done a wash, hung it on the line, and completed the G2 crossword (in pencil so I can rub it out and start again. I never complete it though. Grrr.)  My mug is removed to the dishwasher and my bed made up as soon as I disappear into the shower. She’s made me breakfast before I’ve had a chance to blink. Later in the day my teenage brothers are awoken at a time of their choosing (after midday) with a similar steaming hot cup of tea, and various incentives to do exam revision. How do some mum’s do this? I don’t feel I have properly earnt the job title yet.

Here’s to mum’s. And here’s to sharing.

Tagged:

§ One Response to here’s to mum’s. And here’s to sharing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading here’s to mum’s. And here’s to sharing. at motherporridge.

meta

