thankfully my son is a fan of Spongebob. I look like Mrs Puff

January 24, 2011 § 3 Comments

For those less well acquainted with the yellow, absorbent and porous world of Spongebob – Mrs Puff is a puffa fish. I woke up this morning, looked in the mirror and ‘ta da!’ Thanks to pregnancy I have a face like marshmallow. 3yo agrees with me. I had to give him jam for breakfast to stop him licking my face.

The thing is I’m not in the least bit horrified. In fact quite the contrary. My wrinkles are filled, my cheeks are less hollow, and I look, well, amost ‘dewy.’ Not quite like I’ve gone five rounds with Madonna’s plastic surgeon wielding filler injections, but not far from it. Bring it on!

Weird as it may sound, a fat face is quite welcome. Somehow I’ve reached 17 weeks pregnant and I’m not yet 9 stone. I’m 5 ft 8 and I had no idea I was so thin until I stood on my mum’s scales at the weekend. I mean, I’d noticed I’d had to buy smaller jeans lately, but having no scales at the house really this came as a shock. With my first pregnancy I reckon I was a good 10 1/2 stone by this stage. It’s not like I don’t eat. I eat for Britain. I think it must just be running around after two small boys, working, and not getting much sleep. Instead of sitting on the sofa watching boxsets and eating curry washed down with toffee Butterkist.

Even my neighbour told me I needed to put some weight on. Popping over to the house, she picked up a photo of me after the birth of my first child and said in her fantastically direct way ‘you look great here. Really fat. And young.’ Nice. But she’s right. It was only 3 years ago but I look 10 years younger.

From now on I think more Butterkist is what’s required. And more boxsets. If only someone could run around after the boys for me. Sadly not this week as OH is abroad all week. I spent most of the night with a 1yo in my bed, his pudgy little fingers reaching around my neck, and every time I tried to turn on my side he’d slam his cheek against mine and squeeze. In fact maybe that’s the reason for my puffy cheeks this morning, it’s all the blood returning to the surface. Not such a hardship really. If  1yo cuddles are the key to eternal youth, count me in.

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to thankfully my son is a fan of Spongebob. I look like Mrs Puff

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading thankfully my son is a fan of Spongebob. I look like Mrs Puff at motherporridge.

meta

