and we shall call her…Pom Pom

February 14, 2011 § 7 Comments

Today, Valentines Day, I had my twenty week scan. Sitting in the waiting room of Croydon University Hospital (formerly Mayday hospital but now rebranded to be slightly less terrifying), surrounded by mums-to-be who to be honest looked like they hadn’t seen a vegetable in a while, I tried not to let my butterflies get the better of me. It was a great relief to see my baby on screen, big of tummy and punchy of fist, and I have to admit I was delighted to discover I am having a girl.

I am already mum to two boys, and with so many boys in the family, I hadn’t even dared open the baby name book to the girls section. So now I find myself without a clue as to which girls names I like. My 3rd boy’s name was all sorted. He was going to be Gus Alexander. The girls version of this, Augusta Alexandra isn’t really cutting it. She sounds like a Roman it-girl, and her classmates would probably tease her for having delusions of grandeur.

I told my boys that they are going to have a sister, and asked 3yo what he thinks we should call her. “Pom Pom” he said, decisively. Then… “I’m glad it’s not a boy because that would be boring. And we would have had to call him Inky.” Quite.

Tagged:

§ 7 Responses to and we shall call her…Pom Pom

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading and we shall call her…Pom Pom at motherporridge.

meta

