thirty five to forty fourrrrrghhh

March 21, 2011 § 4 Comments

I’ve officially entered a new age demographic. No longer am I able to tick the pleasingly youthful 25-34 age bracket. I am staring down the barrel of my late thirties to early forties. How did this creep up on me so quickly?

Not so long ago my disposable income would be frittered away on shoes, white wine and convenience foods. Holidays would involve serious amounts of sun-worshipping followed by equally serious amounts of drinking. Now my disposable income is soaked up by kids clothes, childminder fees and my sensible weekly online shop comprising of mainly nappies and cleaning products. Every now and then I splurge on fiendishly expensive anti-ageing creams to try and undo all the sun damage my carefree twenties inflicted, and indulge in a bit of yoga and pilates to try and keep the body ticking over. Although I’m still a bit partial to the vino.

Jaunts in the sun are now few and far between. However I have just been lucky enough to spend my birthday weekend away with the OH in Paris, whilst my in-laws looked after the urchins. It was a lovely chance to relax and enjoy being just the two of us again. I think perhaps we are both starting to act our age. We enjoyed ‘doing a bit of culture’ without dragging a pair of reluctant small boys around with us. We watched rolling news in the hotel room and read our books. Because I’m pregnant, there wasn’t a hangover in sight either. We both came back relaxed and refreshed, instead of in need of another holiday to recover. (Incidentally Paris = not such a good place to live when pregnant. Half the menu out of bounds. People much less chivalrous with public transport seat-offering. Scarily quick-shutting Metro barriers.)

Perhaps I’m slowly beginning to realise that getting a bit older does have its benefits. I don’t care so much what I look like in the mirror. I am happy and secure in my relationship. I have a new identity as ‘mum’ which means that I focus my thoughts much less on where my life is going, and instead concentrate on enabling my children’s happiness. This in itself has made me a much happier person. Perhaps I’ll try my best to remember this part of my life, instead of drowning it out in a sea of stress and white wine.

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to thirty five to forty fourrrrrghhh

  • Him Up North says:

    As someone firmly within the 35-44 bracket, I can report it ain’t that bad. Don’t tell anyone, but some of my income is becoming disposable again… Shhh… 😉

  • your secret is safe with me…

  • Adele says:

    “I have a new identity as ‘mum’ which means that I focus my thoughts much less on where my life is going, and instead concentrate on enabling my children’s happiness. This in itself has made me a much happier person.” <– that's something I'm going to hold on to. I keep telling my mum about how worried I am about the future and she keeps telling me "You'll be a mum soon". Not that that takes care of it but I guess she's talking about changed priorities.

    Also, you've just made me realise my husband and I haven't been in the same age category for our entire relationship!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading thirty five to forty fourrrrrghhh at motherporridge.

meta

