out of the mouths of babes…

March 29, 2011 § 9 Comments

The other day I was wittering some nonsense to the 3yo, and he, quite rightly, asked what I was talking about. I said: “Ignore me, mummy’s just being a silly woman.” To which he replied indignantly: “You’re not a woman mummy!” Noting my shocked expression he then came up with the following explanation: “You’re not a woman because you don’t wear a dress and you don’t have a fat bottom.” I was quite chuffed with the last bit. I won’t lie.

The fact that he didn’t question my silliness and instead questioned my womanliness, lead me to remember a story from my childhood about my little sister. A great example of questionning the wrong word.

It was the 1980’s and overnight someone had graffiti’d in 3 ft high letters on the infants playground wall ‘F*ck the Tories.’ My sister, probably about 6 or 7 at the time, came running out of school flapping her arms around, to find my mum who was assembled with the other waiting parents at the gate. “Mummy, mummy!” she shouted at the top of her voice. “What does TORIES mean?” My poor mother.

I like to impart children’s words of wisdom. Sometimes though I wonder about the future generation. My 15 year-old brother came to stay this weekend. Not only did he think that Newcastle was in Scotland, but when he came back from the shop armed with lucozade, a lollipop and pickled onion monster munch and I questioned him about his fresh fruit and vegetable intake he said “I have honey on my cereal every morning.” Er….

The love that my little boy has for his young Uncle is really quite touching though. Just look at the adoration in his eyes in this picture, as he tenderly pushes his hair away from his face. It seems even young love is blind.

§ 9 Responses to out of the mouths of babes…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading out of the mouths of babes… at motherporridge.

meta

