chick flicks. It’s a love/hate thing

March 31, 2011 § 8 Comments

The theme over at MetalMummy’s Movie Meme this week is Chick Flicks. I have to confess for the last few weeks I have been meaning to participate in this meme but keep being undone by my own procrastination. (A bit like Hamlet. But without the consequences for Denmark.) For Leonardo Di Caprio week I had What’s Eating Gilbert Grape in mind but then decided I couldn’t quite remember the film clearly enough to write about it, so then thought I’d do Romeo and Juliet, or The Aviator, but then remembered how much I like Catch me if You Can, but then….you see my problem? Then last week for favourite actor I uhmmed and ahhed over my shortlist until I couldn’t see for looking and promptly gave up.

This week though I am resolute. I am late. But I will join in. Chick Flicks. To be honest I always think I like them but then find myself  raging and ranting at Bullock/Aniston/Roberts on the screen in front of me, and changing the channel. Has anyone actually sat through The Breakup and lived? Got past the first 15 minutes of The Notebook without retching? Not willed Carrie et al in the Sex and the City movies to prostrate themselves on the spikes of their Manolos? I’m sure I can’t be alone in this.

Saying all that, as much as the cliched characters in most chick flicks wind me up, my choice is definitely itself lacking a bit of originality. It is Bridget Jones’ diary. I love love love this film. It never fails to cheer me up if I’m having a bad day, and surely a bit of romantic escapism is what a decent chick flick is all about. The orange QVC presenter. Christmas jumpers. Hugh Grant as foppish rogue Daniel Cleaver. The fight scene. The wonderful Jim Broadbent. Plus the inspired casting of Colin Firth as Mark Darcy, when in the book Bridget is obsessed with Colin Firth from the BBC Pride and Prejudice adaptation. I could actually watch this film over and over again, and still cry at the end when they get together. Even my OH enjoys this film, although he’d never admit it. Second one sucked though.

On the theme of Chick Flicks, I caught the tail end of a radio programme the other day which was discussing the upcoming release of a new ‘true chick flick.’ Apparently written by one of the Saturday Night Live writers and claiming to be ‘the female Hangover’ where the characters go out and have a good time and don’t just talk about men all the time. Google is failing me though. Anyone have any ideas what this film is called? My feelgood tank is running a little low.

Tagged: , ,

§ 8 Responses to chick flicks. It’s a love/hate thing

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading chick flicks. It’s a love/hate thing at motherporridge.

meta

