better buy bold

April 7, 2011 § 6 Comments

No it’s not yet another post where I recount with dismay my 3yo’s ability to recite advertising slogans (although only yesterday he told me to ‘Trust pink. Forget stains’ when he dripped strawberry juice all down his new shorts. Yes shorts! First shorts and suncream day of the year!)  No. Notes to Self on her blog this week quotes Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, in order to inspire her readers into doing something bold.

“Whatever you do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius and power and magic in it.”

Her bold step is to enrol on a film producer’s course. Go Notes!

As I approach the birth of spud 3, and prepare to hurtle out of the world of management consultancy without so much as a backward glance, I know there’s a real danger that probably only about three months into being a stay-at-home-mum I will start to trawl the job websites, and obsess about my future career ‘direction.’ I’m hoping it will be different this time. I’m hoping to be satisfied with where I am and to enjoy being at home with the kids full-time, and to consign the hand-wringing and navel-gazing to the coffers of history.

However I can’t deny that I do get some sense of self-worth through having a job outside of child-rearing. Therefore I think my bold move would have to be to pursue something I have always thought I am good at yet never managed to find the time to devote myself to. That is writing. My bold move will be either to enrol on a creative writing course, or to finally commit to paper one of the many children’s book or short story ideas that are floating around in my brain. Watch this space. If I’m bemoaning my new office and lack of interest in my job in a year’s time please do wave von Goethe’s quote in front of my face with reckless abandon.

Tagged:

§ 6 Responses to better buy bold

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading better buy bold at motherporridge.

meta

