if he saw Bambi, he’d probably ask for venison for tea

April 18, 2011 § 2 Comments

Yesterday I snuck away for a quick shower whilst my boys ate breakfast. My eyes are shut and I’m enjoying the moment, when suddenly the screen door is pulled open and a small hand reaches in and prods my knee. It is 3yo.

“Mummy, mummy, I fink de Cloud is DEAD!” he announces with an unmistakeably excited tone to his voice. “I fink a fox has eatened him.”

The Cloud is one of our cats. 3yo doesn’t seem in the slightest bit put out.
Upon further probing (shower abandoned) it appears there’s no real reason to think the Cloud has gone to the great cat basket in the sky. Just he’s not pitched up for breakfast.

“Don’t you love the Cloud?” I ask. He thinks for a bit. “Not weally mummy. He scratches Patchy (other cat.) And hisses at Doris (dog.)” 3yo has clearly got his hopes up.

When it comes to the Cloud, I am conflicted. He has clawed his way to the top of the pet pecking order. It is hilarious to witness the bulldog refuse to go out the garden for a wee because a small fluffy cat is standing on the patio. But the Cloud is my cat, rescued as a kitten. He spends every night curled up on my knee, and follows me from room to room. In fact I probably get more cuddles from the Cloud than any other member of the family.

Here is a picture of the fearsome Cloud. Now you can see what we’re up against. Grrrr…
As an aside…3yo is looking forward to Easter. We are going to do an Easter egg hunt in Grandma’s garden. He informed me the other day that while he’s at it he also wants to “catch the Easter wabbit and eat him for our dinner.” How have I raised a child who can be so unemotional about the demise of small, fluffy animals?

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to if he saw Bambi, he’d probably ask for venison for tea

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading if he saw Bambi, he’d probably ask for venison for tea at motherporridge.

meta

