Baby, mix me a drink

April 28, 2011 § 4 Comments

I came across two fantastic gifts for new mums yesterday. Forget lotions, babygros, flowers, yadda yadda…what new mums really need is a large alcoholic drink followed by a good night’s sleep. Yeah I know breastmilk/alcohol combo not encouraged. I choose to mainly ignore that. A large glass of wine WHILE feeding is the best way to ensure they don’t get any of it, small delay into the bloodstream see. Looks a bit wrong but helps you relax. Promise.

So I came across this book on the McSweeneys website – a perfect gift for new parents.  In their own words:
” Too many of us allow our infant sons and daughters to lay about idly: napping, drinking milk, and sometimes “turning over.” Why not have them mix you a cocktail?” Genius.

On the sleep front, I think my 1yo is trying to prepare me for the impending sleepless nights of spud number 3 (aka The Loneliness of the Breasfeeding Mother) by deciding to scream from 4.30am until 6.30am. Much appreciated especially on a work morning. Maybe I should have read him this before sleep. Maybe not. Still, it would be a good gift for a new parent to chuckle over. Better than yet another babygro.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Baby, mix me a drink

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Baby, mix me a drink at motherporridge.

meta

