Chilled out

May 11, 2011 § 10 Comments

Very grateful to Tara Cain over at Sticky Fingers this week, for her excellently timed Gallery theme ‘chilled out.’ My mum turns 60 this week and after a difficult couple of years undergoing regular treatment for secondary cancer, my sister and I wanted to treat her to a couple of days well deservered relaxation and pampering. Of course, the added bonus was that my little sis and I, both soon-to-be-mums-of-three, were forced to chill out with her. This is me, sunning the bump. We chose The Grove in Hertfordshire, which turned out to be a great choice. A totally unstuffy hotel – the chef at dinner came over to chat and showed off pics of his 5 month old son, then sang mum happy birthday.
(Crap photographer though.)

The hotel and grounds are stuffed full of amazing sculpture, and every corridor displays plastic tables containing various amusing objects such as plastic ducks, watering can tops. Outside there’s a walled garden and a fake beach, outdoor pool and kids club (not that I cared- ha!) The spa treatments were incredible – once I’d got over the miniscule paper G-string and napkin sized ‘modesty towel’ the therapist put over my chest. This morning my sis put me to shame by swimming 100 lengths of the pool (she’s 3 years younger and 6 weeks less pregnant OK) whilst I lay in the room watching re-runs of Relocation Relocation and eating pancakes. Extremely relaxing. Back to work tomorrow with a bump. Happy birthday mum, here’s hoping we can spoil you again next year.

Tagged: ,

§ 10 Responses to Chilled out

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chilled out at motherporridge.

meta

