I work hard, every day of my life, I work till I ache my bones…

May 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

Ok that’s not exactly true. It is fair to say that in my current employment, I have been a little on the demotivated side, and my bones aren’t exactly aching. Neither is my brain for that matter. However every afternoon Lex FM, the radio station of my mind, plays this Queen song at around 5pm. Specifically this line: “I’ve got to get out of this prison cell, some day I’m going to be freee….”

Lex FM can get a bit grating at times. Like the time I worked on the Strand and every morning a little voice would start singing Sandy from Grease “Stranded at the drive in, branded a fool…” or when living in Clapham and stuck on the tube without fail the Lex FM DJ would play its bootleg version of Madonna’s Borderline: “Northern Line…guess I am going to lose my mind…”. Does anyone elses brain do this to them? I’m hoping if yours does it’s not quite as unsophisticated as mine. Perhaps it likes to wake you up with Edvard Grieg’s “Morning” instead of Wham’s “Wake me up, before you go go” and when falling asleep plays Visage “Fade to Grey” instead of humming the “Goodnight” song from CBeebies.

Tomorrow Lex FM may choose to axe Queen from its playlist. Because today is that day of freedom. Goodbye royal blue carpets. Goodbye purple desk partitions. Goodbye aquamarine walls. Goodbye corporate hellhole. Yes today is my last day at work and my maternity leave officially starts here. Will it be more relaxing being at home with the boys? No. Will I have as much time to sit and stare, and write my blog? Hell, no. But bring it on. Right now I am embracing the prospect of full-time motherhood and it feels good. I’m intrigued to find out what my new playlist will be.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I work hard, every day of my life, I work till I ache my bones… at motherporridge.

meta

