my backyard

May 25, 2011 § 18 Comments


I live in Crystal Palace in London. I moved here from Befnal Green in the East End after having my first child nearly four years ago. I’ve lived all over London and I can honestly say I’ve never loved an area more. I do miss the vibrancy of Colombia Road flower market, the nightlife of Shoreditch and the curry of the Lahore Express on Bethnal Green Road, but Crystal Palace is a great place to raise children. My little cul de sac backs onto a wood and at night I’m kept awake by owls hooting instead of the call of sirens. In my garden we get parakeets, two types of woodpecker, and the latest…stag beetles. My boys love the nature and the parks around here. We adults get the bonus of a friendly local community, decent boozers, restaurants, a fast train into Victoria or London Bridge and now the East London Line, delivering me straight back to Shoreditch for decent curry and shopping. Now 3yo has got a place at great state primary school, I see absolutely no reason to follow many of my friends, and head for the burbs. CP rocks. And we’re getting the Brazil Olympic team coming to stay soon too…I’ve got a year to perfect my caiprinha recipe.

§ 18 Responses to my backyard

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading my backyard at motherporridge.

meta

