3yo makes comment on globalisation…he’s terribly advanced for his age

May 27, 2011 § 5 Comments

This morning 3yo and I launch my web browser, and conduct an internet search to find the CBeebies Tommy Zoom game. He turns to me and says in a serious voice “Google is a bit like God, mummy.”

Wow! I think. That is a seriously sharp comment. I have clearly bred a genius. (Obviously I knew this already, I was just waiting for the concrete proof to fall in my lap). Is he making an incisive comment about the global power of this firm, or does he perceive Google as being some kind of ‘all-knowing being’. Not that I’ve ever really talked about God with him however. The only knowledge he has gleaned has probably come from his Spike Milligan book ‘Bad Jelly the Witch’ which says ‘Just then God came by. God was not happy. God zapped the witch.’ Or something along those lines.  

Deciding that someone has clearly filled in the theological gaps in his knowledge, and dismissing the slightly disturbing fact that at 3 my son is already able to recognise the Google brand, after gaping for a bit I reply “Why do you think that, darling?”

“Guh” he says.

“Eh?” I reply.

“Guh Guh Guh,” he says emphatically, now making a swirling circular gesture with his right hand.

“Guh Guh Guh!” He looks at me like I’m being a bit slow.

The penny drops. “Oh, I see! You mean they both begin with the letter ‘G’?”

“Yes,” says 3yo. “Guh, guh, guh.” Again that swirling hand thing.

“Er, darling, what are you doing with your hand?”

“It’s water going down a plughole mummy. Guh. Guh. Guh.”

Phonics. It’s bloody phonics. I suppose I should be pleased.

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to 3yo makes comment on globalisation…he’s terribly advanced for his age

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 3yo makes comment on globalisation…he’s terribly advanced for his age at motherporridge.

meta

