frock it

May 31, 2011 § 5 Comments

Mid 30s Life hosts a weekly gallery of frocks, which I last contributed to by being very rude about Mariah Carey. This week, I’ve decided to be a much nicer person (it won’t last).

I went to a 4yo’s birthday party yesterday and the mum was wearing a pretty sundress. She’s very stylish and I thought I’d seen it on the cover of a Sunday supplement and that it was designer. I was glad that the mum did exactly what I do when someone compliments me on an outfit (afterwards I always silently kick myself in the shins). She said “£19.99 Sainsbury’s”. And now I hope she forgives me for passing this on. I couldn’t find the Tu/Sainsbury’s version but after a bit of shopping around have located the Marc Jacobs dress it’s based on. The Saino’s version is only a few hundred quid cheaper.

A quick ps. as I’ve spent a lot of time looking at frocks over the last couple of weeks. But very small ones. My lovely friend who I call The Wife has twin girls, and she invited me over to help myself to their baby clothes. As a mum of two boys I couldn’t help but squeal. A lot. This newborn size woollen dress and cardie combo is particularly cute. I tried to put a hand or foot in shot to give a sense of scale but decided to spare you the close up of the attractive mottled skin. I have to fess up to having bought the shoes myself. They are about the size of my little finger. Maybe I should have ironed the outfit first too. Oh well. Would have been a first.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to frock it

  • I'm So Fancy says:

    Ha ha! I do the same thing. Must learn to keep my mouth shut. At least I’m not guilty of the opposite. Fancy is no label dropper…

  • Love it!! But are the Sainsburys dresses only online? Because I never see clothes at Sainsburys, and I’ve been to a few big stores too. Love that dress, I am such a sundress girl, I really miss Target for their cheap & cheerful numbers. I wear them to death, well not here because I haven’t found the UK to be conducive so regular sundress wear.

    Ramble ramble.

    I know exactly what you mean about the baby girl clothes!! When I was pregnant with my 2nd, I didn’t have a preference for a girl or boy. I remember saying to a friend, “A girl would be lovely, but not all that pink stuff around the house.” Well I ate my words very quickly. “She looks so good in PINK!!”

    T-shirts with diggers etc are all very well, but the dresses are more fun.

    Sorry that was a long one! xx

  • Think must be in store as looked online and not there. We have clothes at our local one. Re. pink my little girl may well be a redhead so I’m thinking might not be her best colour! Sure it’s only a matter of time before I have no choice though…

  • Kate Takes 5 says:

    Oo I love that dress very much. Unfortunately no Sainsburys in Ireland 😦

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading frock it at motherporridge.

meta

