All their lives radio listeners

November 8, 2011 § Leave a comment

You may recognise the title of this post as an REM lyric. I can probably recite the whole song. Not because I particularly like REM, but because my brain is a song lyric sponge. If this sounds boastful then please rest assured that my skill (short of being put to good use in pub quizzes and the last time I went to one of those was ten years ago) has no known use. It also winds me up beyond belief because my inner playlist churns up mainly very bad 80’s and 90’s records. Then plays them on repeat. This morning on the school run I found myself humming songs by Jennifer Rush and Renee and Renato, with a short circumvention via The Wee Papa Girl Rappers and S Club 7, finishing off with a nice touch of Poison.

There is nothing more annoying than having the lyrics of a droning ballad pop into your head and stay there for a whole day. The only thing to do is turn the radio on and sing along to something else. But it was the radio that got me into this mess in the first place.

I am an avid radio listener and always have been. OH has a room full of vinyl, and a computer harddrive full of MP3’s, but I barely go near them. My ideal morning would start with a bit of the Today programme, followed by the 6 Music breakfast show, back to Radio 4 for some of Woman’s hour then a brief stopoff at Radio 2 for Popmaster. Over to Xfm for 8 by X, back to 6 Music for Lauren Laverne, then perhaps a small bit of Absolute or Absolute 80’s, and a brief skim past Magic and Heart. If I’m ever downstairs with the baby late at night, I tune in to hear my friend Cristo on LBC.

On Sunday I was driving across London and the boys, the baby, and OH had all fallen asleep. Thrilled to have free reign on the radio channels I couldn’t believe it when I discovered Jason Donovan presenting on Heart, going head to head with Rick Astley on Magic. Whatever next, I wondered aloud to OH later that day. Chesney Hawkes on Smooth? Apparently though this wasn’t a very good joke because Chesney does indeed have his own radio show, as does Kim Wilde, Sonia and one half of Milli Vanilli (this last one may be a lie).

When I was growing up my radio choices were limited: Capital fm, Radio 1 or my local radio station Chiltern. And the presenters were all very much of the same ilk: Doctor Fox, Chris Tarrant, David ‘the kid’ Jensen. Nowadays, alongside the Stock Aitken and Waterman alumni I can also, if I want to, choose to listen to the presenting skills of Dave Gorman, Frank Skinner, Craig Charles and Huey from the Fun Lovin Criminals. Happy days for a radio listener like me. Now if I could just get Save Your Love out of my head, I might be able to get on with my day.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading All their lives radio listeners at motherporridge.

meta

